Effective Oct. 1, some driver responsibility fees will no longer be charged to Michigan motorists.
The eliminated fees were for minor offenses and fees for more serious crimes will remain in place.
“These fees have been a costly burden on Michigan residents, and I’m pleased to see some of them go,” Michigan Secretary of State Ruth Johnson said in a statement. “Citizens already have to pay court fines and usually see higher insurance rates for violations.”
According to the statement, Public Act 255 of 2011 eliminates the $150 driver responsibility fees charged for two consecutive years, for the following violations committed on or after Oct. 1:
•Operating a motor vehicle with an expired operator’s or chauffer’s license
•Operating without a valid license
•Having more than one license
•Failing to surrender licenses from other states
The law also eliminates the $200 driver responsibility fees charged for two consecutive years for violations committed on or after Oct. 1:
•Failing to have mandatory motor vehicle insurance coverage
•Failure to produce proof of insurance
•Knowingly providing false evidence of insurance
Drivers who owe driver responsibility fees for violations occurring before Oct. 1 are still required to pay them.
Whatever lawyer they have who filed the "lawsuit" ...
The committee was headed by the general counsel for ...
Hopefully there will be a new story about this soon, ...
Hey "dumbrules"-- the rule that she broke was a University ...
Did Ms. Martin even notice the sit-in? My presumption ...