Basketball coach Rob Murphy one of 15 award finalists

Eastern Michigan head coach Rob Murphy calls out the play in the Eagles 61-59 double overtime loss to Northern Illinois Thursday in Dekalb.

On March 24, Eastern Michigan University men’s basketball coach Rob Murphy was announced as one of 15 finalists for the Ben Jobe Award.

The Ben Jobe Award is presented annually to the top minority coach in Division I men’s basketball.

Murphy led the Eagles to their best season since the 1997-98 year. In the 2013-14 season, the Green and White amassed 22 wins—the most since 1996-97—and earned their first postseason berth since the 98 year.

The list of finalists include:
Rob Murphy (Eastern Michigan)
Tommy Amaker (Harvard)
Roman Banks (Southern)
Johnny Dawkins (Stanford)
Ron Hunter (Georgia State)
James Jones (Yale)
Mike Jones (Radford)
Joe Jones (Boston University)
Danny Manning (Tulsa)
Cuonzo Martin (Tennessee)
LeVelle Moton (North Carolina Central)
Kevin Ollie (Connecticut)
Monte Ross (Delaware)
Gary Waters (Cleveland State)
Willis Wilson (Texas A&M Corpus Christi)

The winner of the 2014 Jobe award will be announced at the Awards Banquet, April 4 in Dallas, Texas, at the site of the Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.

Comments powered by Disqus