Three Eagles pick up MAC honors in football

While the Eastern Michigan football team struggled to a third straight 2-10 season, there were bright-spots amidst the gloom, as three players earned positions on the All-MAC list.

Junior defensive lineman Pat O’Connor headlines as the lone Eagle to earn first-team honors. O’Connor led the MAC in sacks with 7.5 while finishing fourth in the conference with 14 tackles for loss.

Redshirt junior linebacker Great Ibe earned second-team honors while senior tight end Tyreese Russell was named to the third-team. Ibe finished the season 133 tackles, 69 of them solo, and recorded double-digit tackle totals in nine of the 12 games this season for EMU. Russell led the team in receiving with 39 catches for 523 yards. Russell finishes his career at EMU with 101 catches for 1,417 yards and 11 touchdowns, tied for sixth in EMU history for touchdowns scored.

Around the MAC:

Second year Western Michigan coach PJ Fleck earned the honor of MAC coach of the year, turning the program around from a 1-11 team in 2013 to 8-4 this season. WMU running back Jarvion Franklin received both MAC offensive player of the year and freshman of the year honors after scoring a school record 24 rushing touchdowns. Miami defensive back Quinten Rollins earned MAC defensive player while Ball State kicker Scott Secor was the MAC special teams player of the year.

2014 All-MAC First Team Offense
Quarterback – Blake Frohnapfel, UMass
Offensive Linemen – Greg Mancz, Toledo
Offensive Linemen – Nick Beamish, Central Michigan
Offensive Linemen – Andy Phillips, Central Michigan
Offensive Linemen – Andrew Ness, Northern Illinois
Offensive Lineman – Tyler Loos, Northern Illinois
Tight End – Jean Sifrin, UMass
Wide Receiver – Tajae Sharpe, UMass
Wide Receiver – Titus Davis, Central Michigan
Wide Receiver – Corey Davis, Western Michigan
Wide Receiver – Roger Lewis, Bowling Green
Running Back – Jarvion Franklin, Western Michigan
Running Back – Kareem Hunt, Toledo
Placekicker – Scott Secor, Ball State

2014 All-MAC First Team Defense
Outside Linebacker – Jatavis Brown, Akron
Outside Linebacker – Junior Sylvestre, Toledo
Inside Linebacker – Justin Cherocci, Central Michigan
Inside Linebacker – Jovan Santos-Knox, UMass
Down Lineman – Jason Meehan, Northern Illinois
Down Lineman – Leterrius Walton, Central Michigan
Down Lineman –Pat O'Connor, Eastern Michigan
Down Lineman – Cody Grice, Akron
Defensive Back – Quinten Rollins, Miami
Defensive Back – Nate Holley, Kent State
Defensive Back – Donald Celiscar, Western Michigan
Defensive Back – Paris Logan, Northern Illinois
Punter – Anthony Melchiori, Kent State

2014 All-MAC First Team Specialists
Kickoff Return Specialist – Eric Patterson, Ball State
Punt Return Specialist –Ryan Burbrink, Bowling Green

Comments powered by Disqus