Men's golf ties for co-champion in Florida

Eastern Michigan University’s men’s golf team finished with a 4-2 victory over Ball State University Tuesday, Feb. 10, in the second round of the Earl Yestingsmeier Match Play event in Dade City, Fla.

With this win EMU finishes as a co-champion, along with Toledo, in the match play event. The third round was canceled due to time constraints and weather.

Match play is different from stroke play in how scores are compiled and how a winner is determined. Each hole is worth one point, strokes are counted and the golfer with the lowest stroke count receives the point for that hole. If there is a tie, then the score is halved. Once a player has a score higher than the amount of holes left to play then the match ends.

Schools are competing in teams of six with the seeds determined by their current GolfStat rankings. Each of the six matches is worth one point to the winner. The school with the most points after the six matches wins.

Sophomore Kyle Rodes saw his first win with a 2-and-1 decision over Michael BanDeventer while senior Michael Blair had a win over Zach Yinger. EMU’s final two victories of the match came from Jared Multer and Joey Kremer who notched 2-and-1 and 3-and-2 decisions.

EMU’s men’s golf team will compete again in two weeks when they head to Long Beach, Calif., at the Del Walker Intercollegiate March 2 and 3.

Team Results

Co-Champions: Eastern Michigan, Toledo

Third Place: Ball State, Miami

Fifth Place: Seton Hall, Ohio

Seventh Place: Florida Atlantic, Dayton

Championship Bracket

Eastern Michigan 4, Ball State 2

McCormick Clouser (BSU) def. Brett White (EMU), 4&3

Kyle Rodes (EMU) def. Michael VanDeventer (BSU), 2&1

Michael Blair (EMU) def. Zach Yinger (BSU), 1 up

James Blackwell (BSU) def. Nicholas Ross (EMU), 2&1

Jared Multer (EMU) def. Johnny Watts (BSU), 2&1

Joey Kremer (EMU) def. Michael Makris (BSU), 3&2

Toledo 4, Miami 2

Chris Selfridge (UT) def. Patrick Flavin (MU), 5&3

Otto Black (UT) def. Scott Cahill (MU), 3&2

Stephen Watts (UT) def. Jack Sparling (MU), 5&4

Mike Lancaster (UT) def. Luke Shaughnessy (MU), 7&6

Brantley Kushner (MU) def. Colin Joseph (UT), 5&4

Greg Conrad (MU) def. Nate Gonring (UT), 4&2

Consolation Bracket

Seton Hall 3, Florida Atlantic 3*

Ryan Snouffer (SHU) def. Derron Peyton (FAU), 6&5

Connor O'Rourke (FAU) def. J.T. Harper (SHU), 4&3

Lloyd Jefferson Go (SHU) def. Cody Christensesen (FAU), 4&3

Kevin O'Brien (SHU) def. Michael Perez (FAU), 4&2

P. Gerboles-Parrilla (FAU) def. David Cha (SHU), 6&4

Caleb Sibley (FAU) def. Cory wilson (SHU), 2&1

*Seton Hall wins on tiebreaker (most holes won)

Ohio 5, Dayton 1

Peyton White (OU) def. George Rohde (UD), 5&4

Nick Paxson (UD) def. Grant Engel (OU), 4&3

Brad Burgess (OU) def. Thomas Goss (UD), 1 up

Ty Herriott (OU) def. P.J. Malik (UD), 1 up

Drew Mynarski (OU) def. Erron Vandemore (UD), 3&1

Brady Bohl (OU) def. Craig Purpus (UD), 5&4

Comments powered by Disqus