EMU women's swim and dive team places second at MAC championships

Eastern Michigan University’s women’s swim and dive team placed second at the Mid-American Conference championship tournament Saturday. The tournament lasted four days and was EMU’s best showing since the 2006-07 season when they won the MAC championship.

Akron came away as this year’s champion with 650 points, followed by EMU’s 555, Bowling Green’s 507, Buffalo’s 477, Miami’s 443, Ohio’s 359.5, Toledo’s 343.5 and Ball State’s 170.

Becky Deacon and Jessie Godlewski earned second place finishes for the Eagles. Deacon placing 2-of-23 in the 3-meter dive and Godlewski placed 2-of-25 in the 200-yard butterfly with a time of 1:59.21.

Alexis Mitcheltree became only the second swimmer in program history to swim the 200 backstroke in under two minutes, with a personal best 1:59.35. In the 200 breaststroke Monica Dorszewski placed third out of 30 with a time of 2:14.47, second fastest on EMU’s all-time list.

Some of the EMU’s athletes qualified for NCAA tournament consideration because of their performances. The athletes will be notified at a later time if they will be invited to compete in the NCAA swim championships, March 19-21 or the NCAA zone C Diving Championships, March 13-14.

Results provided by EMU Athletics:


All-MAC First Team

Jessica Powers, Buffalo

Spencer Rodriguez, Buffalo

Megan Burns, Buffalo

Pei Lin, Miami

Addy Ferguson, Ohio

Stephanie Lemire, Miami

Laura Dawson, Ohio

Paloma Marerro-Munoz, Akron

Hannah Raspopovich, Akron

Erin Seiler, Akron

Victoria Griffin, BGSU

Estela Davis-Ortiz, BGSU

Franziska Wohlert, BGSU

Carly Jackson, EMU

Ashley Niznick, Akron

All-MAC Second Team

Jessie Godlewski, EMU

Ashley Drazkowski, Akron

Elise Campbell, Miami

Laura Savariau, Akron

Kristin Filby, BGSU

Katrin Streicher, Toledo

Jordan Bullock, BGSU

Tara Capouch, BGSU

Ludwika Szynal, Akron

Becky Deacon, EMU

Sara Ghaffari, EMU

Mary Kate MacLean, EMU

Brittney Walters, Buffallo

Kara Kaulius

Coach of the Year: Brian Peresie, Akron

Diving Coach of the Year: Buck Smith, EMU

Outstanding Senior of the Year: Spencer Rodriguez, Buffalo

Outstanding Diver of the Year: Pei Lin, Miami

Outstanding Swimmer of the Year: Laura Dawson, Ohio

EMU Individual Results (* signifies a personal best)

Finals Prelims
3-meter Diving
2. Deacon, Becky 333.60* 282.95
4. Shereda, Alli 296.70* 267.30
5. Dark, Lauren 294.50 286.85
6. Taylor, Karly 281.70 278.70
8. Saya, Melynee 267.40 289.90
1650-yard Freestyle
12. Burtch, Audra 17:02.17
14. Van Allen, Grace 17:04.59
21. Dombkowski, Sarah 17:17.93*
200-yard Backstroke
8. Mitcheltree, Alexis 2:00.22 1:59.35*
13. Shaw, Haley 2:04.29 2:03.37*
100-yard Freestyle
5. Ghaffari, Sara 50.65* 50.68
9. MacLean, Mary Kate 50.50* 50.93
12. Wagner, Sierra 51.23 51.11*
17. Detro, Becca 51.37
200-yard Breaststroke
3. Dorszewski, Monica 2:14.13* B 2:14.47
10. Worthley, Genna 2:17.82* 2:19.27
14. Wimmer, Emily 2:19.30* 2:20.55
17. Rowe, Brooke 2:20.64*
200-yard Butterfly
2. Godlewski, Jessie 1:59.21 B 2:01.68
4. Jackson, Carly 1:59.76* 2:00.61
18. Garringer, Makenzie 2:06.86*
400-yard Freestyle Relay
Wagner, MacLean, Godlewski, Ghaffari

Comments powered by Disqus