EMU Practice: Day One

 

With Eastern Michigan University football’s fifth practice under their belts, head coach Ron English likes the mental direction the team is going thus far.

“I like the attitude of the team because they are working hard and know what they are doing out there,” English said.

Friday’s two-hour practice at the grass fields adjacent to the indoor practice facility marked the first time EMU wore full pads during camp.

In his fifth season as Eagles head coach, English has been able to see his players mature on his watch.

“As a head coach, it is interesting to watch all of the guys develop and change from 18 to 22-23 years old,” he said.

“It is fun to watch these players right now and we have a team that has some maturity behind them.”

As the session went on, the intensity began to pick up at a similar rate as the previous practices earlier in the week.

“We had a little competition there and that is always going to be intense,” English said.

“I have been pleased with the development of this football team, but we will see what our team will look like from doubles [two-a-days] because we have good talent and it is a matter of developing a demeanor about us that we are going to consistent all the time.”

The first of four scheduled two-a-days begin tomorrow at 8 a.m. with a full-pad practice and then returning at 3:50 p.m. in shells.

A Look Ahead To EMU’s Upcoming Practice Schedule:

Day Date Time Practice Type
Sat. Aug. 10 8-9:35 a.m. Practice #6
Sat. Aug. 10 3:50-5:10 p.m. Practice #7
Sun. Aug. 11 OFF No Media Availability
Mon. Aug.12 8-9:35 a.m. Practice #8
Mon. Aug. 12 3:50-5:10 p.m. Practice #9
Tues. Aug. 13 3:30-5:40 p.m. Practice #10
Wed. Aug. 14 3:25-6 p.m. Practice #11
Thurs. Aug. 15 8-9:35 a.m. Practice #12
Thurs. Aug. 15 3:50-5:10 p.m. Practice #13
Fri. Aug. 16 3:30-5:40 p.m. Practice #14
Sat. Aug. 17 5-6:30 p.m. Practice #15
Sun. Aug. 18 12:30-2:30 p.m. Rynearson Stadium Media Day
Mon. Aug. 19 8-9:35 a.m. Practice #16
Mon. Aug. 19 3:50-5:10 p.m. Practice #17
Tues. Aug. 20 3:30-5:40 p.m. Practice #18
Wed. Aug. 21 TBA Practice #19
Thurs. Aug. 22 3:30-5:40 p.m. Practice #20
Fri. Aug. 23 3:30-5:40 p.m. Practice #21 – No Media Availability
Sat. Aug. 24 OFF No Media Availability
Sun. Aug. 25 TBA Practice #22 – No Media Availability
Mon. Aug. 26 OFF Limited Media Availability
Tues. Aug. 27 6 p.m. Practice #23
Wed. Aug. 28 6 p.m. Practice #24
Thurs. Aug. 29 TBA Practice #25

Source: emueagles.com

Stay Tuned:

Stay with the Eastern Echo online for of my training camp blogs.

Social Media:

Follow Eugene Evans on Twiiter @EasternEchoGeno.