OPINIONS


9/15/2019, 3:43pm

Don't Let Go film review

Don’t Let Go stars rising star Storm Reid in a time traveling supernatural thriller sure to keep you on the edge of you seat.

Don’t Let Go is the paranormal, time traveling, hair-raising thriller we didn’t know we needed.


9/9/2019, 10:15pm

Opinion: Mental illness is not an aesthetic

With the influence of pop culture and social media, mental illness is being romanticized and viewed more as a trend than a serious health condition. Songs and “relatable” clothing that glamorize and glorify mental illness appear to be rising in popularity with the younger generations. 


9/4/2019, 9:28pm

Opinion: It's time for the post-Labor Day education law to go

Education advocacy groups and school districts have often argued against the law and have found more reasons over the last several years to defy it - including the 180-school-day mandate, alignment with early college programs and the push for a “balanced calendar.” I join them in their belief that the law should not exist. 


9/4/2019, 9:26pm

Opinion: Student life is changing and we are scared

As school is starting up again, we are noticing year after year something in us is changing, we’re scared. Whether it be the fear of what someone keeps hidden in their back pack, the fear to walk home from class alone or the fear of what could happen if you go to a party; we’re scared.  


8/19/2019, 10:25am

The Lion King film review

Most may know the story of The Lion King but just for review purposes, I’ll rehash it a bit before going into my review. The Lion King was a Disney classic from 1994 that tells a unique story of the circle of life through animals. Focusing on The Lion King, his son Simba and what leads him to eventually become king by following in the steps of his father King Mufasa. Along the way of Simba's journey, he learns the true meaning of stepping up for the ones you love as well as what it means to reign supreme as the wilds true king.


8/17/2019, 8:36am

The Kitchen Film Review

The Kitchen is a film that stars Melissa McCarthy, Tiffany Haddish and Elizabeth Moss as three women who, after years of playing the stereotypical women's role in their marriages, are now challenged with stepping up after their husbands are arrested in a robbery. Not your typical crime drama, we see three “Femme Fatales" as our leads mixed up in the nitty-gritty realities of crime. Which, in my opinion, serves as a high for the film to see the growth among the women as they turn into a force not to be reckoned with.


8/17/2019, 8:35am

Scary Stories To Tell In The Dark Review

The film starts off on Halloween night, the year is 1968 and we're introduced to three teenagers. The first being Stella, the horror obsessed teen with some serious resentment issues toward herself. Then we have Auggie and Chuck, Auggie being the somewhat responsible young man while Chuck plays the comical appeal in the film. Things start to get crazy as soon as a prank goes wrong and leads the gang to meet a wanderer in town by the name of Ramon Morales. As the film goes on, they all find themselves in the town's residential Haunted House, where the story of Sarah Bellows begins to unravel. 


8/15/2019, 10:12pm

Opinion: Michigan immigrants share their story

The humanity of the situation is often forgotten when discussing the immigration crisis. When Trump tries to stoke fear through incorrect claims regarding migrant caravans, lost jobs, or drugs and crime, it is forgotten that these are human beings whose lives have been filled with such adversity that they are willing to do whatever it takes to get even a slight opportunity at a better life. 


8/12/2019, 11:12pm

Singing dancing puppets, 40 years with muppets, can you picture that?

It all started 40 years ago with a frog named Kermit sitting in a swamp singing about the rainbow connection. Created by Jim Henson and based on the popularity of its small screen predecessor, The Muppet Show, The Muppet Movie features an incredible cast of Muppet Characters: Miss Piggy, Ralph the dog, Gonzo and Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem.  


8/7/2019, 3:40pm

Opinion: Politically vocal celebrities positively impact social media followers

People are divided on whether celebrities, such as Cardi B and Lady Gaga, should open up about their political views or keep quiet and remain a figure. Some view celebrities involving themselves in politics as a form of brainwashing on their loyal followers. On the other hand, citizens seem to be more interested in voting as more and more celebrities become politically vocal.