Ypsi 24-Hour Film Shootout awards local filmmakers

This year’s winners of the Ypsi 24-Hour Film Shootout were announced at a public screening at Washtenaw Community College Friday, Oct.9 at 7 p.m.

Hosted by Hyperion Coffee Co., the Ypsi 24-Hour Shootout was a filmmaking contest that took place on Oct. 3-4 where filmmakers were to write, shoot, and edit a short film which contained added “ingredients” that were provided in the 24-hour time frame. This year’s ingredients were a flashlight or a burning candle, a statue in a park, and the line of dialogue, “This is not what I had in mind.”

Starting Saturday, Oct. 3 at 10 a.m. 50 teams of filmmakers raced against the clock to create a short film to be sent in for judging. On Sunday the next morning, 40 submissions were sent in to the judges.

At the screening, winners received $2,400 in cash prizes. An IPSY trophy was also distributed to First Place winners and the Audience Award winners whose film was determined by a vote of the audience in attendance.

The 2015 winners are:

First Place: “Habitable Zone” by Nicholas Williams and Riley Hanson

Second Place: “Always Alice” by Arbor Day Pictures

Third Place: “The Big Leagues” by Anthony Kalil

Audience Award: “To A Future” by Cam Houston

AAFF (Ann Arbor Film Festival) - Manupelli Award: “I’m 28” by Joan Newberry

Three Honorable Mention Awards were given to:

“Keys” by Kyle Morgan

“To A Future “by Cam Houston

“The Gray Area Evil “by Vic Andrade

The rest of the 2015 short films submitted, as well as last year submissions, can be found on their Vimeo channel at https://vimeo.com/ypsi24.

Comments powered by Disqus