With basketball season coming to an end this month, Eastern Michigan has been crowned with multiple awards.

After finishing his first season as a collegiate head coach with a conference record of 9-7 (14-18 overall), Rob Murphy was named the 2012 Mid-American Conference coach of the year. The Eagles also clenched the program’s first MAC West Division title.

Murphy becomes the fourth first-year coach to win the award and to take a division title in conference history.

Heading into the MAC Tournament, the women’s basketball team garnered four awards. Tavelyn James earned First-Team All-MAC and was named the MAC Player of the Year. On Third-Team All-MAC, Eastern is represented by senior forward Paige Redditt and sophomore Natacia Watkins.

Monday, James was also awarded the 2012 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award. The award is presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. It is given to the nation’s outstanding player who is 5-foot-8 or shorter and excels, not only on the court, but in class as well.

James is the second MAC player to ever receive the award as Paulette Backstorm of Bowling Green was given the award in 1989. She is also the second player in school history to be given the award, joining 1998 recipient, Earl Boykins.