About Us

First called the Normal News when founded in 1881, The Eastern Echo has served the Eastern Michigan University and Ypsilanti communities as an independent student newspaper for more than 130 years.

2021-22 Editorial Board

Editor-in-Chief: Juliana Lumaj, editor@easternecho.com 

Managing Editor: managing@easternecho.com

News Editor: news@easternecho.com

Sports Editor: sports@easternecho.com

Podcast Editor: Layla McMurtrie, podcast@easternecho.com

Opinions Editor: Caleb Burlingame, opinions@easternecho.com

Comics Editor: Nick Megdanoff, comics@easternecho.com 

Digital Editor: Valerie Goodman, digital@easternecho.com

Digital Editor: Courtney Mortier, digital@easternecho.com

Design Chief: Mat Mufarreh, design@easternecho.com

Copy Editor: Jenna Robinson, jrobinson@easternecho.com

Copy Editor: Megan Forystek, mforyste@emich.edu 

Getting Involved

Interested in joining the Echo staff?

Go to the jobs page or contact the managing editor with any questions.

Need advertising information?

Visit the advertise page for more information. Email Christine Uthoff at advisor@easternecho.com  for advertising inquiries.

The Echo offices in King Hall are always open to members of the Ypsilanti community. Stop by for a chat and see the faces behind the newspaper.

What does "independent" mean?

Per EMU Regents Policy and board practice, the Eastern Echo newspaper and other student-created media in the Department of Student Media operate independently in order to provide editorial freedom for the student editors. The Student Media Board of Directors provides oversight, and the director of Student Media administers the department on behalf of the board. The university and/or university administrators or officials do not dictate, preview, vet or veto content in the student-created media. All Echo employees are required to be at least part-time students at the university. The only full-time staff member is the department director who advises the editors and staff but does not exercise prior restraint on content matters. The director also oversees the day-to-day operations, including advertising sales, and implements department policies and procedures.

Reader Comments

The Eastern Echo encourages readers to participate in a dialog on the news and information presented on The Echo website by submitting comments. Not all reader comments will be published, and some comments, after publication, will be removed if they are deemed offensive, off-topic, inflammatory or spam by the editors.

Reader comments that will be removed from The Echo site include but are not limited to:

  • Hate speech or personal attacks
  • Comments intended to incite violence
  • Commenter pretending to be someone else
  • Plagiarized comments or copyright infringement
  • Spam and advertising

The editors do not pre-screen reader comments. Therefore, some unacceptable comments may appear online briefly until reviewed and removed by an editor.

Readers who feel a comment is unacceptable for any of the reasons stated above are encouraged to click on the “Flag for moderation” link below the comment and alert the editors. Readers are also encouraged to contact the editors directly by email at the addresses listed above.