10/1/2020, 3:25pm

Opinion: prioritizing public health is not tyranny

Zooming in on the state of affairs with Coronavirus in Michigan, there is a standoff between the Governor’s ability to renew the State of Emergency without Legislative approval. The Legislature, with a Republican majprity, is arguing the use of emergency powers is an overreach, while Gov. Gretchen Whitmer and her administration says the law gives her the right to exercise those powers in a crisis. Who is interested in public health, and who is interested in political and financial gains for themselves?

9/22/2020, 1:12pm

Opinion: Universities are focused on wealth over health in campus reopening plans

The University of Michigan filed a lawsuit against its grad student employees for the “disruptive” strike to get better COVID-19 protections and reforming policing on campus. While cancelled classes do disrupt schedules, a large infection rate would be much more disruptive. This is all part of the larger phenomena of university administrations insisting on a safe return to campus without much consultation with those who it will affect most. 

9/21/2020, 12:36pm

Opinion: Antifa, police suppression, and Black Lives Matter

Many young people know the state of our country isn’t ideal, but don’t know how to fix it. The answers can be found from the past, by taking notes from multiracial coalitions, the working class standing in solidarity, and community based activism.